heaven knows …

seaching for evidence of an afterlife

REINCARNATION … I’M A BELIEVER

In 1990, I was talked into having  a past life regression. I doubted I would actually “go” anywhere, I’ve never been a compliant hypnotic subject. But if I did manage to “go somewhere” I suspected  it would be to ancient Egypt during the 18th dynasty, This era had always held a fascination for me, and as a result I have some knowledge of those times. Fortunately, that didn’t happen. 

with Les Feeney

Therapist, Les Feeney, was well trained in the art of relaxing his subjects, and surprisingly, I regressed to a life as an Apache medicine woman in the mid 1500’s.

Being Australian, I knew nothing whatsoever about this culture. Later, when I listened back to the tape recording at home, I cringed at the obvious errors I ‘d made, and decided to follow up with some research to prove I had merely made it all up.

There was no Mr. Google in 1990. There wasn’t even an internet, so I had no other option than the tedious task of finding and reading books on the subject. The life of sixteenth century Apaches is not a subject that provides an abundance of  books, especially in Australia, although I did come across a few in the local library that included brief chapters on the subject.

My first question was about my tribe’s location. … I had described what appeared to be forests of pine trees, and a white water river through mountains. I found it intriguing that I could be mentally in two places at once when I explained we were near what is now the border of Canada, but neither the border or even the country existed then. 

The only book I found at the library disputed this placement, pointing out that Apaches were plains dwellers in the south west. That was enough to convince me I’d made it all up! At least …until I attended a lecture at a Mind/Body/Spirit festival by an elderly Apache woman.

Following her lecture, I  shyly approached and asked if she knew of any tribe of Apaches living near Canada. She told me that one tribe, and ONLY one had dwelt in what is now Montana near the Canadian border. 

She also told me that the name I had called myself during the regression was, indeed, a typical Apache naming process, and gave me the English translation of it.

Intrigued by the clarity of the visions that had emerged during the regression. and now further bolstered by two confirmations, I continued my search for answers.

One of my statements that appeared to be an obvious error was that men who were not ‘our people’ attacked us.. Our men had fought back bravely, but to no avail, and many of our tribe were slaughtered

Our attackers, I explained in a disinterested monotone voice, had come on horseback.  We didn’t have horses.

We didn’t have horses? I was certain that was an error. Why would I have made such an obvious mistake? I knew, as I was sure everyone knew, that Indians always had horses. (Well, they did in the movies!) And who were these people attacking us? Not our people? Did that mean they were another tribe?

I returned to the library and asked if there were other books on the subject, perhaps in other libraries, that I could borrow, and 2 weeks later collected one called ‘This Land Was Theirs’. I gasped in amazement when I read the following:

“Horses had become extinct in north America by about 8,000BC. The Spanish brought horses … the North American Indians did not begin to use domestic horses until the 1500’s.”

I was amazed to realize that I had been correct on both responses I had considered to be dubious. However, there was one more confirmation waiting in the wings, one I had not even thought to question.

Having committed what was considered to be a tribal crime,  I was banished from the tribe and sent away to fend for myself.  Without weapons or skills, I was unable to hunt and eventually died of starvation.

Moments before my last gasp, my deceased husband came to me in spirit and said “Don’t look back.”

I continued reading ‘This Land Was Theirs’, and when I came to the last page I came across this final confirmation:

“When someone died, the body was painted and clothed in fine garments.  Alas, I had no-one to do that for me.. The final page ends:

the spirit of the deceased person was then told NOT TO TURN BACK.”

YES. I’m a believer

Apache woman

2 Comments

  1. Sue

    How fascinating. To have your questions and doubts clarified . I wonder what wrong you did to be outed from your tribe ?

    Like

  2. Hi Sue 🙂 Dare I say that during the regression I suddenly blurted out that I had “killed the chief!” I even frightened myself! I’m guessing that would be reasonable cause for being booted! Then I explained that I had never liked the chief, mainly because I felt he didn’t show me the respect I felt I deserved, being as I was the medicine woman. When he fell ill, I was unable to save him and my sentiments preceded me. I was accused of NOT trying to save him due to my negative attitude towards him. I suspect they had good grounds to proceed with my punishment.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.