MORE AFTERLIFE MOVIES

MV5BMTQ3ODE5MjIzMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTc4Nzc5MQ@@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_

other NDE movies and AFTERLIFE movies

This is one of my all-time favorites! After a plane crash, a young therapist, Claire, is assigned by her mentor to counsel the flight’s five survivors, who begin to open up and share their recollections of the incident.  But one by one, these survivors begin to mysteriously disappear. Claire becomes determined to uncover the truth … no matter the consequences. But the truth is far more than she bargained for. A compelling and thought-provoking movie.

 

 

MV5BMTUzNjE5ODYwN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTY4MjQ1MTI@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_

The Discovery is a grim movie, to be sure. It’s about a scientist (played by Robert Redford) who uncovers scientific proof that there really is an afterlife, but this revelation prompts many to take their own lives. Some loved this movie, some were bored with it (including me for a while as it does tend to get bogged down due to its  jumps between past, present and future) but I felt the final scene brought it all together beautifully and made it worth the effort.

 

 

 

sixthsense

Who HASN’T seen The Sixth Sense? When it first came out in 1999 (wow, that long ago?) everyone was talking about it and saying “don’t give away the ending, it’s such a surprise!” So I rushed out to watch it, and I confess, I predicted what I thought was the ending within the first 5 minutes, but knew there had to be a bigger twist than I expected. There wasn’t, so to me it was a bit of a let-down. But when I watched it again years later, I enjoyed it far more because I wasn’t trying to figure out what the twist would be, and I appreciated it far more. It’s a classic ‘afterlife’ movie.

 

 

MV5BMTAxMDE4Mzc3ODNeQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU4MDY2Mjg4MDcx._V1_UY268_CR0,0,182,268_AL_

 

The ending to THIS  one, however, I didn’t anticipate! A woman (played by Nicole Kidman) lives in a darkened old house with her two photosensitive children and becomes convinced that her family home is haunted.  I thought it was going to be just one of your run-of-the-mill haunted house movies. How wrong I was. Loved it!

 

 

MV5BMjEzNDQ4MDE5Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwOTcyMDc5._V1_UY268_CR1,0,182,268_AL_

Sorry, but I confess that I just didn’t get this one. Perhaps it’s my sense of humor – or lack of. It certainly falls within the category of afterlife – in fact, it’s a “life review” movie. Yuppie Daniel Miller is killed in a car accident and goes to Judgment City where he must prove in a courtroom-style process that he successfully overcame his fears.  Written, directed and starring Albert Brooks (and Meryl Streep).  If you love Brooks’ work, then you’ll probably love this movie.  I just hope it’s not how it works in real life … er, I mean in real death!

 

 

MV5BMjAwNDA1MTM2MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzg3NDcwMw@@._V1_UY209_CR0,0,140,209_AL_

 

This is a thriller about a young girl who was murdered and who watches over her family – and her killer – from purgatory. She must weigh her desire for vengeance against her desire for her family to heal. It’s a little slow and may not be a movie to watch so much for the story-line as for the experience.  It didn’t get rave reviews from most viewers, but it’s a hauntingly beautiful and thought-provoking movie.

 

 

 

MV5BNjRlNzNhMDYtZmYxNC00ZDVlLTlkNGMtYTYxNDI5MjcxNWYzL2ltYWdlL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjc1NTYyMjg@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_

 

Now, here are two “oldies-but-goodies”. (Stairway to Heaven was made in 1946.) Peter Carter’s plane crashes. It was his time to die … but ‘they’ couldn’t find him in the fog. By the time they do, his life has changed, and he must plead his case in heaven. Sounds a little like “Defending Your Life”, but this one isn’t a comedy. However, it IS a bit soppy, as old movies often were. A nice romantic one for a rainy Sunday afternoon.

 

 

 

MV5BYzE0YTYyN2ItMDE1Zi00NGYwLThjOTktZjIxMzMwMzdlM2ViXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTIxOTk5MzY@._V1_UY268_CR3,0,182,268_AL_

I searched high and low for this 1944 movie for many years and believe me, it wasn’t easy! I remembered seeing it so long ago but couldn’t remember its title or even who was in it! But I eventually tracked it down and loved it all over again. It’s about passengers on an ocean liner who can’t recall how they got on board or where they’re going, but it soon becomes apparent that they all have something in common.  Now this is how I intend to travel to the other side!

(Be reminded: old movies can be a big soppy!)

 

 

I still have so many more movies to share with you, so I’ll put another collection up in a few months. In the meantime, if you want to go back and check out those I’ve already mentioned months ago on this blog, you can find them at:

NDE movies and AFTERLIFE movies

I’d be really interested to hear your opinions on the movies listed – did you love something I didn’t enjoy, or didn’t enjoy something I loved? Please feel free to share your thoughts with me and this blog’s other readers through the comments box.

heaven-knows-3d-coverIn the meantime, I want to thank all those who have written such lovely reviews on Amazon about my book, Heaven Knows, and encourage those of you who have read and enjoyed it (or even if you didn’t enjoy it) to write a review. My purpose for writing the book was to help those who are grieving or living in fear of death, and reviews always help potential buyers make a decision.

Cheers, SandyC

10 Comments

  1. Sandy, thank you for this list! I am always looking for movies to watch – will have to check out the “old soppy” ones, too!

    Blessings,
    Sandy

    Like

  2. Kerry

    Thank you Sandy. Great write up as per usual xo

    Like

  3. “Defending Your Life” is one of my all-time favorite afterlife movies! I loved the humor, and I loved that the tone was not melodramatic as so many tend to be. If you take the spiritual point-of-view that we create our own realities, even in the afterlife, Daniel Miller’s Judgment City makes more sense as he was prone to judging himself a lot. If the movie had been told by Meryl Streep’s character, Julia, it would have been a whole different movie. Very few movies attempt to portray any kind of afterlife, and while I would have liked to see a version of “Defending Your Life” that went deeper into more afterlife issues, I very much appreciated this one. “What Dreams May Come” is another one that comes to mind, and it also shows he principle that we get what we create in the afterlife.

    Like

    • Hi Joshua, thank you for your comments. You’re not alone enjoying Defending Your Life -I think I must be the only person who didn’t get it. I recall feeling rather incensed that it all seemed so unfair to Meryl Streep’s character! What Dreams May Come is listed in one of my other blogs on afterlife and nde movies – this is the third. The links to the other two are at the bottom of this blog. Cheers, and thank you again for your comments. 🙂

      Like

  4. Debbie

    Thanks for making this list for us May I also suggest
    Saved by The light
    A near-death experience changes a menacing man (Eric Roberts) for the better but alienates him from his wife (Lynette Walden).
    Release date: December 12, 1995 (USA)
    Based on: Saved by the Light; by Dannion Brinkley; Paul Perry
    It can get a little cheesy in parts but it was a wonderful movie!!!!!

    Like

    • Hi Debbie. Thank you for your comments. I agree that Saved By The Light was a very interesting movie, and it’s actually listed on one of my other blogs. My three blogs I’ve put up this year about afterlife and nde movies are linked on the bottom of this blog, so there are lots more for you to browse through! Many thanks, and cheers.

      Like

  5. Laura

    I just purchased and downloaded your book to my Kindle. Looking forward to reading it! Regarding the movies you posted, I actually enjoyed watching “Defending Your Life”. I thought it was funny and entertaining and sweet. I love Albert Brooks and Meryl Streep, so that may be part of it. Another I watched recently that is just a fun movie stars Robert Downey Jr. called “Heart and Souls”. These movies are entertaining and not what I expect the afterlife to be, of course.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Irudemd, and thank you for your comments. I loved Heart and Souls too, and it’s listed on one of my other 2 blogs about afterlife and nde movies, both of which are linked at the bottom of this blog. I must try and watch Defending Your Life again, I just felt so sorry for Meryl Streep’s character, but maybe I need to watch it through different eyes. Thank you, and cheers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

